View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 12, 2009, 04:06pm
Back In The Saddle Back In The Saddle is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
Quote:
Originally Posted by ILMalti View Post
What is this rule about? and does it mean that when the calling official is adamant about his/her call, the other official/s cannot overrule?
With very few exceptions (and those exceptions are clearly identified in the rules with language like "the referee shall...") both or all three partners are equals. My partner is specifically prohibited by rule from "overruling" any of my calls.

But there are appropriate times when one partner may help another "get it right." For example, if you know with absolute certainty that white tipped the ball before it went OOB over my line, and I indicated that it is white's ball, you should hold up play and immediately bring that information to me. If I'm about to misapply a rule, and you know what the correct ruling is, you'd should be on your way over pronto to help me out. But in any such case, it's my call and my ruling and I will make the change.
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming

Last edited by Back In The Saddle; Sun Jul 12, 2009 at 04:10pm.
Reply With Quote