I think we're supposed to announce the count: when asked, after a suspension in play, or when the next pitch may result in a status change. A count of 2-1 would not result in a status change regardless of whether the pitch was a ball or a strike.
I think we've also been told that it is up to both the offense and defense to know the count and the number of outs.
The pitch might have been a called ball had the batter not swung at it, but now it's a strike, although only strike 2. The OP didn't say if the ball hit the ground, but mostly this is a moot point since we're now only at strike 2.
In most cases, if the batter takes off for first base, I've got nothing, even if the catcher throws the ball into RF. If that happens, the runner from 3B scores, and the batter is standing on 1B, 2B, or 3B, I'm bringing the batter back to finish his/her AB.
Since this is a "play of interest", I'm going to guess that if, in the umpire's judgment, s/he thought this was being done intentionally, the batter could be called out for interference by drawing a throw to 1B. And if the runner from 3B advanced, would need to return there.
So now I'll await the official ruling and check out the various rules that will be cited.
__________________
Ted
USA & NFHS Softball
|