View Single Post
  #37 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 01, 2002, 11:42am
just another ref just another ref is offline
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
]

Exactly. The NCA addresses that the ball must be touched legally. The NFHS doesn't. What if the ball were kicked by a defender who is inbounds? Is that play any different than this one? The ball has been touched by a player who is inbounds. Hmmmm?

If the clock must start, and then stop, then the timer is allowed lag time to stop it. [/B]
I think a kick would result in the same bottom line. The violation occurred on the first touch of the ball which is when the clock should start. The ball becomes dead on the violation. I see no reason why the clock must start at all.
Now, we look at 5-10-1 "The referee may correct an obvious mistake by the timer to start or stop the clock properly only when he has definite information relative to the time involved." The definite information in this case is how much time was on the clock at the start of the throw in. If we are in the last second or two of the game, we would be more inclined to notice this, whereas if more time is left whatever times ticks off here would probably be considered insignificant. If we take the approach that the timer did not make an "obvious mistake" but started the clock on the chop in and then tried to stop it on the whistle for the violation, perhaps too late, then indeed lag time would be considered. I personally favor the idea that the clock should not have started and should be reset, but I see your line of reasoning as well. So it all comes down to which of us is the referee on this particular night and our ability to sell our interpretation to the coaches.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote