Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:
Originally posted by jbduke
Time is only to be chopped when a ball is legally touched.
|
The rule doesn't say that in NF, only in NCAA. It simply says the clock starts when the ball is touched, period.
|
5-9-4 ".....the clock shall be started when the ball touches, or is touched by, a player ON THE COURT after it is released by the thrower."
A player out of bounds is not considered to be "on the court", is he? I have no rule to quote which directly states this.
9-2-10 "No player shall be out of bounds when he touches or is touched by the ball after it has been released on a throw-in pass."
9 Penalty: "The ball becomes dead when the violation ....occurs...."
I read all this to say that the ball becomes dead in this case at the same instant that the clock should have started. If it is necessary for the two officials to confer in this case to reach this conclusion, and then put some time back on the clock, I would say that they would definitely be justified in doing so.