Quote:
Originally Posted by aceholleran
Sent to me by a coach. I am cutting and pasting here.
one out, man on first base. count is 2-2 on the batter. pitcher throws ball 3. batter thinks it is ball 4 and starts to run to first base. the runner on 1st thinks it must be ball 4 also and starts to walk to 2nd. the catcher, knows it is ball 3 and now attempts to pick the runner off at 1st base off since he is moving so slowly. the thrown ball by the catcher now hits the batter-runner and the runner on first now makes it to second. what is the ruling?
Glad I wasn't at the game.
Ace in CT
|
All rule references and interps 2009 LLBB Rule Book and Casebook
1) R1 (LLBB 7.13)...this runner can now legally attempt to advance to 2nd base (he can run, walk, walk slowly, crawl), or attempt to draw a throw from the catcher as he tries to get back to 1st base. The fact that
"he is moving so slowly" has no bearing on the play. Tha fact is by rule, r1 can do what he's doing and by rule the defense can make a play on R1 if they choose to do so.
2) The batter...and he is still a batter NOT a batter-runner...(LLBB 2.0 Pg.51)and (LLBB 6.09)...and is
OUT (LLBB 6.06 c):
"The batter is out for illegal action when
(c) interfering with the catcher's fielding or throwing by stepping out of the batter's box OR making any other movement that hinders the catcher's play at home base." Also reference LLBB Casebook 6.06 Pg.22-23.
>Was the batter out of the batter's box?
YES
>Based on the sitch stated in the OP did he have any LEGAL reason to be where he was when strcuk by the throw?
NO (His confusion as to wether it was ball 3 or 4 does not matter..as according to the OP the PU only called the pitch a Ball...not "Ball 4").
>Did the batter's action cause interference of the throw by the catcher as he attempted to make a play that BY RULE he was entitled to make?
YES
>RULING:INTERFERENCE ON THE BATTER. Batter is out. R1 goes back to 1st. Two outs, 3&2 count on the batter.
If you work a lot of LLBB odd plays like this will and do occur. At both the LLBB annual regional clinics and their umpire's school, the national and regional umpire staffs preach the concept of advantage/disadvantage when these weird situatons happen. Apply the proper LLB rule and/or interpertation is the first step, but always make sure neither team gained an advantage or was put at a disadvantage by the actions of the other team if somehow the rule/interp does not fit the particular sitch perfectly.
It's LLBB...it's a different world than big diamond ball. Also, if you are a rgistered LL umpire, you can call your regional headquarters and get an official ruling/interpertation from the staff. If this play occured during LLBB tournament play (district level right up to the LLWS), and the on filed ruling was protested, a call to the regional office is made right then and there before play can continue.