View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 05, 2009, 10:25am
BillyMac BillyMac is offline
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,389
Are We Looking At The Same Casebook Play ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by hoopguy View Post
The player must land before blowing the whistle for jump ball. Case 4.25.2 supports this.
Really? According to 4.25.2 in my casebook, the whistle is blown for a held ball when the player lands, or, when the ball drops to the floor. The casebook play further states that the held ball, and thus a whistle, occurs when the airborne player is prevented from releasing the ball to pass, or try for goal.

4.25.2 SITUATION: A1 jumps to try for goal or to pass the ball. B1 leaps or reaches and is able to put his/her hands on the ball and keep A1 from releasing it. A1: (a) returns to the floor with the ball; or (b) is unable to control the ball and it drops to the floor. RULING: A held ball results immediately in (a) and (b) when airborne A1 is prevented from releasing the ball to pass or try for goal.

In addition, 4-25 states that a held ball occurs when an opponent places his/her hand(s) on the ball and prevents an airborne player from throwing the ball or releasing it on a try. The rule doesn't mention anything about the airborne player returning to the floor.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote