View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 05, 2009, 10:21am
Adam's Avatar
Adam Adam is offline
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
It's the same rule reference that tells you to call a held ball if a shooter has his shot capped and returns to the floor with it. You don't call him for a travel even though you don't blow the whistle until he returns.

In this play, it doesn't matter where the shooter lands. He can land OOB or IB and it's still a held ball. The held ball happens while he is in the air, not when he lands; as evidenced by the fact that it's still a held ball even if the defender doesn't have his hand on it when the shooter lands.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote