View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 03, 2009, 07:26am
ILMalti ILMalti is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 126
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo View Post
Strange play: Player A is an airborne shooter, the defender comes from behind a touches (more like grazes) the ball. The ball never came dislodged, loose or at anytime did player A lose control.

Player A just held onto the ball and returned to the floor - he never shot it, bobbled it, nothing ...

The case book says if the defender keeps the shooter from releasing it is a jump ball, but I am not sure that defender was kept from releasing it. The shooter just never shot it.

Thoughts?
The rule for held ball is very specific.

4.25.2 states

An opponent places his/her hand on the ball and prevents an airborne player from throwing the ball or releasing it on a try


Since your description says "touches (more like grazes) the ball. The ball never came dislodged, loose or at anytime did player " then there could only be ONE call according to Rule 4.25

TRAVEL as per 4.44.3b

Last edited by ILMalti; Fri Jul 03, 2009 at 07:30am.
Reply With Quote