Balk rule per OBR.
The game was boys' 18U summer travel league using OBR.
Play: Runners on 1B and 2B with no outs. (MTD, Jr. is the PU and I am the BU in the "C" position. LHP does not come to a complete and discernable stop. I shout BALK! And the F1 delivers a pitch which the batter (LHB) hits to left-center field (for a single, remember this). The B/R takes two or three steps down the first base line toward 1B and then returns to the LHB batter's box while, the runners on 1B and 2B remain on their respective bases, and F7 throws the ball to F4 who throws the ball to F1.
My Ruling: When the ball was returned to F1, I waited to see if there was going to be a play made on the B/R. F1 made no play so I called Time and placed B/R on 1B, thereby moving the two base runners up on base.
MTD, Jr., and I admit that we are not the most knowledgeble umpires per OBR. So how bad did I screw the pooch?
MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
|