Quote:
Originally posted by Nevadaref
[/B]
|
Personally, I would like to know if the intent of 9-2-12 was only to distinguish a designated-spot throw-in from one where the team may run the entire endline. More specifically, was the restriction on being OOB meant to apply to the whole court or just the endline. And how about a teammate stepping OOB at the division line during a throw-in that is after a goal? Is this a violation or not?
In short, I may be missing the spirit of this rule because I probably wasn't born when it was written! [/B][/QUOTE]1)Yup,R9-2-12 is used for spot throw ins only anywhere on the floor,endline or sideline.The violation is intended to be for a team mate to be deliberately OOB after the designated thrower in is given the ball.The key word is "deliberately".If you have any doubts,don't call anything.This is usually called on a spot throw-in when the thrower in A1 passes the ball to A2(who is also OOB),and A2 then passes the ball in bounds to another teammate.Violation. Also,don't confuse this with R10-3-4,which is a T for a player using the OOB's to gain an advantage.Completely different plays.
2)A teammate of the thrower in inadvertantly stepping OOB is never a violation.The only violation that you can get on this play is if that player touches the throw in before he legally returns in bounds.If he does,then that player caused the ball to go OOB.
Btw,what makes you think that I was born when these rules were first written?