View Single Post
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 30, 2002, 06:01am
Nevadaref Nevadaref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Talking

B][/QUOTE]So,Nevada,if A1 is making a throw in at his own endline,and A2,while running downcourt,inadvertantly steps on a sideline at center court,you are going to immediately blow your whistle and give the ball to B at center court for A's violation of rule9-2-12--even if the ball is still in A1's hands? I'd like to be there to see that one! [/B][/QUOTE]

JR, I understand that this may be pushing the envelope, but according to the rule AS WRITTEN this is a violation, and the penalty is just as you have described.
Now, in a game I didn't see the player step OOB. Sorry, coach must have missed it. But for a rules exam....
I believe this is a case where my youth is a problem. I do not know the history of this rule. I don't have the handbooks going back to 1962, or the comments that accompanied this rule's inclusion to the rules book.
Perhaps you could shed some light here!
Personally, I would like to know if the intent of 9-2-12 was only to distinguish a designated-spot throw-in from one where the team may run the entire endline. More specifically, was the restriction on being OOB meant to apply to the whole court or just the endline. And how about a teammate stepping OOB at the division line during a throw-in that is after a goal? Is this a violation or not?
In short, I may be missing the spirit of this rule because I probably wasn't born when it was written!
Reply With Quote