View Single Post
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 30, 2002, 05:38am
Jurassic Referee Jurassic Referee is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by Nevadaref
Lady and Gents,
I believe that your whole discussion about lag time on this play is moot since the violation occurs BEFORE the ball is touched.
NFHS 9-2-12 . . . No teammate of the thrower shall be out of bounds after a designated-spot throw-in begins.

Therefore, it is clear that if the player is called for stepping on the sideline as he jumps to catch the pass, the violation occurs at this point and no time should run off the clock. If any does, simply put it back on.
Also, 9-2-12 should make it clear that it is the teammate of the thrower, not the thrower himself, who has violated in this case. Hence, the throw-in is at the spot of the violation near the division line.
So,Nevada,if A1 is making a throw in at his own endline,and A2,while running downcourt,inadvertantly steps on a sideline at center court,you are going to immediately blow your whistle and give the ball to B at center court for A's violation of rule9-2-12--even if the ball is still in A1's hands? I'd like to be there to see that one!
Reply With Quote