View Single Post
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 30, 2002, 05:26am
Jurassic Referee Jurassic Referee is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by jbduke
Coach,

In this situation, my understanding is that the lag time provision does not apply, as time was never properly chopped in. Time is only to be chopped when a ball is legally touched. Since that condition is not met, it seems to me that we may reset the clock here with impunity.

If we are in violent agreement, I apologize.

jb
Whether the time was properly chopped in,or not,is not the problem.The timer can legally start the clock if an official doesn't give the time-in signal at the proper time.NFHS rule 5-9-1==="If the official neglects to signal,the timer is authorized to start the clock as per rule,unless an official specifically signals continued time out".The problem in this case occurs when the timer wrongly starts the clock.
Reply With Quote