Lady and Gents,
I believe that your whole discussion about lag time on this play is moot since the violation occurs BEFORE the ball is touched.
NFHS 9-2-12 . . . No teammate of the thrower shall be out of bounds after a designated-spot throw-in begins.
Therefore, it is clear that if the player is called for stepping on the sideline as he jumps to catch the pass, the violation occurs at this point and no time should run off the clock. If any does, simply put it back on.
Rainmaker, this rule is the reason that I wrote, in an earlier post, WillieBfree and his partner should have given the ball to the other team for a division line throw-in and not an endline throw-in. If you re-read his original post, he makes it clear that this was a designated-spot throw-in when he tells us that the team lost the ball out of bounds on the endline.
Also, 9-2-12 should make it clear that it is the teammate of the thrower, not the thrower himself, who has violated in this case. Hence, the throw-in is at the spot of the violation near the division line.
I'll end with a comment that if this throw-in had been after a goal or an awarded goal, we probably have to go by 9-2-10 since it is no longer a designated-spot throw-in. Then we can get into the lag time dicussion.
[Edited by nevadaref on Nov 30th, 2002 at 01:21 AM]
|