The rule says that as long as "
one foot stays on or over" (edited IL_MALTi) the designated 3 foot area. Ie can have one foot inside the 3 foot area with the other outside that area.
Obviously all feet must be OB until release (lifiting a foot over the line is also allowed as long as it does not touch the IB court before release.
As menioned the thrower can move as far back (within the 3 foot wide corridor) as they so desire. If space to move back is not available other rules kick in.
Initial Rule ref : 4.42.6;
What i believe the "fanboy" was yelling at was the wording of the rule: which states "the thrower must keep one foot
on or over the spot until the ball is released" (4.42.Note). What "fanboy" forgot to read is that the spot is 3 feet wide (4.42.6)