View Single Post
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 29, 2002, 10:03pm
BktBallRef BktBallRef is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally posted by Hawks Coach
I am saying that trail chops as ball is touched and timer reacts to that chop. Whistle happens immediately after, timer reacts after horn has sounded. Does lag time come into play, or do you say clock never should have started (NFHS-college and pro it is clear that the clock is reset).
Rule reference coach?

I don't think the NFHS rule is as clear as the NCAA rule.

NCAA 5-11-4
When play is resumed by a throw-in, the game clock and shot clock shall be started when the ball is legally touched by or touches a player on the playing court.

NFHS 5-9-4
If play is resumed by a throw-in, the clock shall be started when the ball touches, or is touched by, a player on [/b]the court after it is released by the thrower.

The NFHS rule does not have the requirement that the ball be legally touched. Is it implied? You would think so but the rule doesn't state that.

Also, what's the difference in the playing court vs the court? Rule 1 describes the playing court as being the inbounds area. It would seem that the court includes inbounds and OOB areas.

Common sense would dictate that no time runs off the clock, but I'm not sure the rules support it. The trail starts the clock when the ball is touched on the court. He has no way of knowing, in many cases, whether the player is OOB or not.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote