Thread: Timer's error
View Single Post
  #24 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 29, 2002, 07:55pm
stan-MI stan-MI is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 139
Interesting feedback. I think Hawks Coach has the correct rules interpretation, put time back on the clock per 5-10 and go with the arrow per 6-3e. I'm sure it wouldn't make Team B happy.

This actually happened in a district final. The officials put 1.5 back on the clock and gave the ball to B for a throw-in on the sideline nearest to where B2 had caught the ball (immediately after the horn). They sold it to the coaches without much trouble, and B missed a last-second shot. If B had won the game with a last-second shot, and Coach A had gone home, consulted the rule book and called the supervisor, do you think there might be some repercussions for the officials?

Even though it might seem unfair, I guess I'd stick with the rules and go with the arrow (which was pointing in favor of A).
Reply With Quote