View Single Post
  #32 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 30, 2009, 02:03pm
Bishopcolle Bishopcolle is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 183
Quote:
Originally Posted by GA Umpire View Post
The OP said the ball hit the batter while out of the box. As soon as that happened, then he has INT with the play. It doesn't matter if F3 caught it still. The contact just had to slow it down a little. And, the OP said F2 was trying to pickoff R1. That is a play on R1 and not trying to retire the batter(who is not a runner).

So, once the batter came out and got hit with the throw, he has INT with it regardless if F3 could catch it. He INT with F2's play on R1 at 1B. That is INT and batter is out with R1 going back to 1B. The OP said R1 is now on 2B after the batter INT with the throw (ball hit the batter while out of the box while trying to make a play at 1B).
Read the OP. The catcher caught ball 3 (mistakenly thought to be ball 4) and the batter ran toward first base. The catcher (without any interference by the batter) threw toward first and hit the batter in the back...doesn't say how far down the line he was, but he hit the batter in the back....that is not INT, it is a bad throw by the catcher....plain and simple
Reply With Quote