View Single Post
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 30, 2009, 11:05am
GA Umpire GA Umpire is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: West of Atlanta, GA
Posts: 381
Quote:
Originally Posted by umpjong View Post
You are selectively applying the applicable rule. To apply the entire rule (again with no case/interpretation to back your claim) I have no interference on the OP.
No, you have taken part of it and selectively applying it. The part you marked goes with the entire phrase after the "or" part of the rule. The part I marked before the "or" applies to this situation.

It should be read this way.
He interferes with the catcher’s fielding or throwing by stepping out of the batter’s box. He interferes making any other movement that hinders the catcher’s play at home base.

The OP is INT if the batter had an impact on the play. And, it sounds like he did, so INT. Batter is out, R1 returns to 1B. If R1 was put out, then no INT.
__________________
Question everything until you get an irrefutable or understandable answer...Don't settle for "That's Just the Way it is"

Last edited by GA Umpire; Tue Jun 30, 2009 at 11:09am.
Reply With Quote