View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 28, 2009, 10:44pm
bossman72 bossman72 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,226
Quote:
Originally Posted by bas2456 View Post
I was at a high school game recently and this play happened:

Man on first, two outs. Batter hits a gapper to right-center. Batter is going for three and is thrown out. Home plate umpire says run does not score before the out at third. He signals this by making the "safe" signal. Defense's manager is confused, thinking umpire counted the run.

Was this the correct mechanic?
Technically he's correct, but the signal should be overhead and not a "safe" signal at shoulder height.
Reply With Quote