View Single Post
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jun 27, 2009, 11:14am
NCASAUmp NCASAUmp is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 4,361
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
Speaking ASA

Yes.
To clarify Mike's answer, being obstructed does not relieve a runner of their baserunning responsibilities. They are still required, by rule, to touch the bases in the proper order. If they fail to do so, a proper appeal will result in an out.

If they are obstructed, the umpire should give the runner a reasonable amount of time to touch the missed base. If they are put out between the two bases where the obstruction occurred, or if they are put out prior to the base they would have reached had there been no obstruction, it's a dead ball, and the umpire shall make the award.
__________________
Dave

I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views!

Screw green, it ain't easy being blue!

I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again.
Reply With Quote