View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 26, 2009, 10:15am
youngump youngump is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by NCASAUmp View Post
Since we're on the subject of 10-3-C, I'll toss this one out there. I was calling a game last year, and this happened to us. Here's the sitch...

ASA Men's SP. No outs, no runners on base. I'm BU. The pitcher pitches the ball for ball 1. Catcher throws it back to the pitcher, who immediately delivers the next pitch without a pause.

PU signals the DDB, then calls "illegal, no pitch." The batter swings anyway, grounding the ball past F6, who made minimal effort to go for the ball. The defense basically stopped because they had heard "no pitch" (even I heard it from B). The batter made it to 2B.

How would you correct this sitch? I'll tell you how we ruled later.
No pitch. You can't take that back after you call it even if it were wrong.
________
BlackSexQueen

Last edited by youngump; Mon Sep 19, 2011 at 06:59pm.
Reply With Quote