Thread: L of a play
View Single Post
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jun 20, 2009, 04:58pm
Nevadaref Nevadaref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
The only foul supported by the rules in this play would be on A2. B2 has only done what the rules expressly permit him to do.
4-23-3d. The guard may raise hands or jump with his/her own vertical space.
It doesn't say they can do so as long as there is no contact. It doesn't say they can only do so as long as no opponent has extended their arms over them. It means that as long as they have LGP, they can legally jump and/or extend their arms straight up....even if it results in contact.

Imagine rebounding action where B2 has his arms over A1 when A1 jumps up for the rebound. Do we call that foul on A1? No. B2 was in A1's vertical space and fouled A1 by having his arms extended in outside of his own vertical space where contact occurred. We call the foul on B2 even if his arms where there first.

Who causes the contact is irrelevant, it is about who is in an illegal position when contact occurs.
Obviously, I couldn't disagree more.

1. LGP is not a factor in the rebounding play, so you can't cite a rule discussing that to support your opinion.

2. Use "you" instead of "we" because I certainly don't call a foul on B2 in your example.

3. Even if the play involved LGP, such as the example that I gave, you are still in error because you believe this, [referring to 4-23-3d] "It doesn't say they can do so as long as there is no contact," and this, "Who causes the contact is irrelevant, it is about who is in an illegal position when contact occurs."

You are failing to understand that 4-23-3d must be taken in the context of what is written about guarding in 4-23-1. Those are the basics of guarding and everything that is stated there applies to the later articles.

4-23-1 "... Every player is entitled to a spot on the playing court provided such player gets there first without illegally contacting an opponent."

That's the guiding principle. (There are exceptions for airborne and fast moving players.)
Reply With Quote