Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
This is a foul on B2. While he is entitled to his vertical space, he must put his body parts in it first and without illegally contacting his opponent. He failed to do that here.
There is no rule against A2 invading the vertical space of B2 without initiating contact. What A2 did on this play is perfectly fine. It was B2 who now caused the contact by getting into his position late.
Think of it this way, if A2 were driving and taking a shot and jumped into the air while extending his arms over B2's head, would you allow B2 to extend his arms straight up and smack the arms of A2 while he attempts his try? Obviously not.
People seem to forget that verticality demands that the player doesn't cause contact with the opponent. That is different from the opponent contacting him.
|
The only foul supported by the rules in this play would be on A2. B2 has only done what the rules expressly permit him to do.
4-23-3d. The guard may raise hands or jump with his/her own vertical space.
It doesn't say they can do so as long as there is no contact. It doesn't say they can only do so as long as no opponent has extended their arms over them. It means that as long as they have LGP, they can legally jump and/or extend their arms straight up....even if it results in contact.
Imagine rebounding action where B2 has his arms over A1 when A1 jumps up for the rebound. Do we call that foul on A1? No. B2 was in A1's vertical space and fouled A1 by having his arms extended in outside of his own vertical space where contact occurred. We call the foul on B2 even if his arms where there first.
Who causes the contact is irrelevant, it is about who is in an illegal position when contact occurs.