Quote:
Originally Posted by Da Official
I've been considering this scenario, although I haven't seen it occur yet but wanted to make sure I knew what to do if it ever happens.
NFHS rules if it matters...
Situtation: A1 stops dribbling with 2 feet on the floor. A1 raises the left foot and steps to pass the ball but doesn't pass the ball. Both feet are back on floor. A1's forward momementum gets him/her off balanced and A1 raises the right foot off the floor and takes 2 hops on the left foot. Right foot still in the air.
At any point in this scenario would we have travelling?
Can A1 legitimately hop the length of the floor as long as his pivot foot never touches the floor?
Please advise...and cite rule if possible.
|
NFHS, NCAA, and FIBA rules: When A1 stopped his dribble he had not yet established a pivot foot. When he lifted his Left foot (LF), his Right foot (RF)became his pivot foot. When he raised his RF, he can not return it to the floor until after he releases the ball for a pass or a field goal attempt. With his RF off the floor when he landed on his LF from his first hope he committed a travel violation.
MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
|