View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 14, 2009, 06:37am
bob jenkins bob jenkins is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,185
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bishopcolle View Post
Don't remember the pro game, but a bunt to first trying to score the runner at 3rd is fielded by F3....he quickly heads to the plate and stops R1 who heads back to 3rd base, only to find R2 standing there....He does not step on the bag, but he gets very close and the BU calls him out on the tag...

Question: If R1 grabs the bag, and R2 stays on it too....who is ruled out on a double tag? Does R1 have to vacate? or R2?
What is the mechanic?
Your question is a little confusing because normally, it would be R3 who is on third. And, when you say "He does not step on the bag" are you referring to R1/R3 or R2? You also don't specify if there was a runner at first to start the play.

In any event -- if there's a force, then the base belongs to the trail runner -- R2 in this instance. R3 is out.

If there's no force, then the base belongs to the lead runner -- R3 in this instance. R2 is out.
Reply With Quote