Interference?
THis happened in a Colt league game that is operating uner NFHS rules. Runner on first - 1 out. Batter strikes out and catcher drops the ball. Runner at first takes off towards second & batter starts to run towards first and makes contact with the loose ball - accidentially. Umpire calls dead ball on contact and orders runner back to first. I contend that it is a live ball and incedental (sp) contact as the defense put the ball in play. There were several umpires at the game and they agreed with me. Not sure if it is the right call ot not. Any thoughts?
|