View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 12, 2009, 11:14am
GA Umpire GA Umpire is offline
Official Forum Member
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: West of Atlanta, GA
Posts: 381
My question is what play was being made? If no play, call Time and stop runners. Then, warn him.

If R2 was trying to score, then you have interference by a teammate not BI. So, 7.11 would apply in that instance and R2 would be out. Batter is not out in this case since it is no longer BI since he didn't interfere with the catcher's initial throw or play.

If R2 stops at 3B, then "Time" with a warning. If R2 tries to score with the possibility of a play to be made on him, then R2 is out by rule 7.11 otherwise, call "Time" and put him back at 3B with a warning.

That is how I envision making this ruling.
Question everything until you get an irrefutable or understandable answer...Don't settle for "That's Just the Way it is"
Reply With Quote