Thread: Balk?
View Single Post
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 10, 2009, 09:03pm
Rich Ives Rich Ives is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrUmpire View Post
A dangerous argument. The rules also say a batter is awarded a base on four balls. I guess that doesn't mean he can't also be awarded a base on three balls.

I prefer to accept the common usage of the language. The rulesmakers said SHALL, and I believe they meant it.

I understand the lack of specific penalty, nonetheless, by rule they SHALL take signs from the rubber.
The rule says

Pitchers shall take signs from the catcher while in contact with the pitcher’s plate.

So if he's getting signs from the catcher he must do it from the rubber.

But where does it say he can't get signs from someone else?

Where does it say he has to be on the rubber when getting a sign from someone else? The rule seems to only cover signs received from the catcher.

Do you think it means he must get a sign i.e. is giving/getting a sign required?
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote