View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 08, 2009, 08:58am
Dholloway1962 Dholloway1962 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 448
Quote:
Originally Posted by CajunNewBlue View Post
NFHS rules tourney.
R1 at third, R2 at second. Batter hits a hard grounder to F6, she boots the play (ball comes up her glove, off her shoulder and into the air a good 10') F6 takes a step forward to try and field the now airborne ball and there is contact with R2 on her way to third. Ball falls and rolls and F6 takes 3-4 steps to pick it up in front of her.
BU makes no signal. PU makes no signal. R1 comes home and R2 is at third and BR makes first safely.
Question is "step and a reach".... how does this apply to a vertical play like this.
We ended up ruling nothing on this. I (PU) was inclined to give OBS to R2, but was moot as she made 3rd easily.
Correct? Wrong? Comments? (I heard a few select ones from the defensive teams fans)
If all she had to do was a step and a reach to field this ball, vertical or not, then I have INT.
Reply With Quote