Quote:
Originally Posted by grunewar
Tonight, 1st qtr of the Orl vs LA Game, an Orlando player appeared to block the shot of an LA player as the Orlando's player's hand went up through the basket from below - ball was not in the cylinder.
NFHS 4-6-3 - this would be a violation, correct? What's the NBA Rule?
Thanks.
|
RULE NO. 11-BASKETBALL INTERFERENCE-GOALTENDING
Section I-A Player Shall Not:
h. Touch the ball at any time with a hand which is through the basket ring.
PENALTY: If the violation is at the opponent's basket, the offended team is awarded two points, if the attempt is from the two point zone and three points if it is from the three point zone. The crediting of the score and subsequent procedure is the same as if the awarded score has resulted from the ball having gone through the basket, except that the official shall hand the ball to a player of the team entitled to the throw-in. If the violation is at a team's own basket, no points can be scored and the ball is awarded to the offended team at the free throw line extended on either sideline. If there is a violation by both teams, play shall be resumed by a jump ball between any two opponents at the center circle.
In the future, you can look these things up for yourself at
NBA.com - Official Rules of the National Basketball Association