View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 03, 2009, 12:31pm
argodad argodad is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Pace, FL
Posts: 653
Send a message via AIM to argodad
Quote:
Originally Posted by bd41flpk View Post
However; when I read Rules Supplement 36.B - I interpret some 'grey area' - '.....Not in the act of fielding a ball.....' In my scenario, the catcher is in fact 'in the act of fielding the ball'. Yet I believe that this was in fact changed a while ago? I do believe that this is OBS; yet this statement definitely leads to some questions?

Any help with this interpretation is appreciated.
Not in the act of fielding the ball refers to fielding a batted ball. In the act of fielding a thrown ball does not protect the defense from obstruction.
__________________
Larry
Reply With Quote