View Single Post
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 02, 2009, 03:09pm
Ed Maeder Ed Maeder is offline
Never Stop Learning
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 518
First of all with R1 on 2nd and R2 on 3rd there would be no infield fly situation. Maybe you meant to say R2 on 1st. In your first play even though the infield fly is called runners still have to tag on the touch of the catch, or they are able to be put out on a live ball appeal. This is not a force out, but it is a live ball appeal that they left the base before the ball was first touched. In your second play your observer needs some training. The batter would be out and the force would be off, but the runners can run and be in jeopardy of being put out. The ball is not dead on the miss unless it is judged to be intentionally dropped. You guys type much faster then I do. Ditto to what has been said.

Last edited by Ed Maeder; Tue Jun 02, 2009 at 03:16pm.
Reply With Quote