Thread: balk or not?
View Single Post
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 02, 2009, 08:18am
bob jenkins bob jenkins is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by newump View Post
R1. F3 is not holding on the runner, he is playing well behind R1. F1 steps off of the rubber and then throws over to F3. F3 is well behind R1 and is not moving towards the 1st base bag when he catches the throw from F1.

I say no balk as F1 has disengaged is no longer treated as a pitcher, but as an infielder.

same for all codes??

any rule citation or interp would be appreciated. thanks
Not a balk the first time, but it could be interpreted as "delaying the game" -- OBR 8.02(c); FED 6-2-2a. If you do give the warning, and F1 does it again, it is a balk plus an ejection under OBR-- 8.05(h). I dont' think this is covered under FED, but I'd probably apply the same logic to call a ball under 6-2-2c

That would be a pretty unusual call, unless there's something else going on in the game.

Last edited by bob jenkins; Tue Jun 02, 2009 at 08:24am.
Reply With Quote