Quote:
Originally Posted by kylejt
Sure there is.
First, you've got two types, a and b. Type a is an automatic award of the next base, whereas b is a judgement call on negating the actual impedement. Giving him the plate was not an automatic. So for type b, there really are degrees for obstruction.
|
That is not a degree. It is two different types. Labeled types a and b, because it has two different stipulations. If a play is being made or not. That is not a degree of obstruction, its labeling obstruction based on a important stipulation, which there in sense gives a different penalty.