View Single Post
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 27, 2009, 05:30pm
Tim C Tim C is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,729
Hmmm,

It seems we cover this each year. Since we do it must be a confusing situation.

I believe that many recognize that it is a balk to do something that simulates a pitch . . . HOWEVER . . . after "Time" has been called or the ball has gone to dead ball territory an umpire cannot put the ball in play until the pitcher has the ball in hand, has contacted the pitcher's plate, the batter is in the box (and some will comment on the catcher's in his area) and all is ready for the direction "PLAY".

If an umpire, in error, puts the ball in play without the pitcher having the ball in his possession it is simple a "do over". There is no balk.
Reply With Quote