Thread: 1st to touch
View Single Post
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 26, 2009, 11:11am
wanja wanja is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 278
A player who is legally out of bounds can legally touch the ball after establishing inbounds status. Per rule 9-3, "A player shall not leave the floor for an unauthorized reason". In that case a violation occurs immediately except....

Consider the following cases.

9.3.3.b A1 intentionally goes out of bounds outside the endline to have his/her defender detained by a screen: VIOLATION called immediately

9.3.3.a A1 intentionally steps out of bounds from the restricted area of the free throw lane: VIOLATION called immediately


9.3.3.d b5 intentionally steps out of bounds on the sideline while a1 is on his/her way to an uncontested layup with the score tied and 4 seconds on the clock: DO NOT CALL VIOLATION


A2 saves a throw in from going out of bounds by tapping the ball to the court inbounds near A2's basket. A2's momentum carries A2 out of bounds. A2 returns to court takes 1 dribble and scores. NO VIOLATION.
Reply With Quote