Thread: 1st to touch
View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 26, 2009, 10:58am
Brad Brad is offline
Whack! Get Out!!!
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Johnson City, TN
Posts: 1,029
There is an NCAA rule about going OOB and then returning and being the first to touch the ball. If a player goes OOB "under his/her own volition" (i.e. on purpose) it is a violation. For example, a player who runs OOB to avoid a baseline screen, then reenters the court on the other side of the lane and receives a pass.

However, saving the ball and then returning inbounds to retrieve it is not a violation.

Just remember, if no volition then no violation

NCAA Rule 9-4. Player Out of Bounds
Art. 1. A player who steps out of bounds under his/her own volition and then
becomes the first player to touch the ball after returning to the playing court
has committed a violation.
Reply With Quote