Quote:
Originally Posted by Spence
Field has a temporary fence in the outfield.
Hit ball goes "through" the fence or under the fence.
Outfielder raises hands to show the ball is no longer accessible.
Is this an automatic ground rule double?
I ask because someone told me they saw a game where the umpire awarded the batter 3rd base based on his belief that had it not gone through or under the fence that the batter would have ended up at 3rd.
|
Technically speaking it is a BOOK rule double. Ground rule doubles are things that are unique to your grounds like the ball getting caught in the ivy at Wrigley Field. Same award though. There is no such thing as a ground rule triple, no matter how far away the soccer goal in right field is.
__________________
"Contact does not mean a foul, a foul means contact." -Me
Last edited by w_sohl; Wed May 13, 2009 at 08:42am.
|