View Single Post
  #37 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 08, 2009, 08:23pm
aschramm aschramm is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 131
I had this situation happen to me tonight.

U14 game, FED rules, batter squares to bunt. Pitch is inside, batter pulls his bat infront of his body (toward the pitchers mound) and tries to turn out of the way. The pitch hits him in his hands. I, PU, award the batter first base. The opposing coach disagreed, saying that since he still had his bat out as if he were bunting (but while trying to avoid the pitch), that it should be a foul ball. I discussed this with my partner, and we still awarded the batter first base. Between innings, the opposing coach came out to discuss this with me again, and he said "But aren't the hands part of the bat?" I said "No, coach they aren't". And that was all that was said.

Now looking at the rule book, it states that the batter is awarded if a pitch hits any part of his body (exception - if he doesn't try to move out of the way). I believe i got this call correct. Can anyone confirm this or put in their judgment?

Thanks
Reply With Quote