View Single Post
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 07, 2009, 10:43am
jdmara jdmara is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,230
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnyg08 View Post
fellas, i've been looking in the fed rule books and I'm not finding a warning or an out anywhere if this would happened on a fed baseball field.

heck, there's even a case play where b/r falls rounding 3B and the coach helps him up and that's legal. do we have a rule or case play that supports an out anywhere? If so, I couldn't find one for an over-the-fence-homerun
In Fed if the ball is dead, the OP is not illegal. See 3.2.2A.

Although 3.2.2B confuses me and seems to not be consistent with 3-2-2. 3-2-2 says the penalty for a coach assisting a runner: "PENALTY: The ball is dead at the end of playing action. The involved batterrunner or runner is out and any additional outs made on the play stand. Runners not put out return to bases occupied at the time of the infraction."

Simple enough but 3.2.2B seems to contradict that:

Quote:
3.2.2 SITUATION B: With R1 on third base and one out, B3 hits a fly ball that (a) F8 is about to catch, (b) is going over the fence for a home run or (c) bounces off the fence into play, as R1’s coach at third physically assists R1 at third base.

RULING: R1 is called out immediately because of his coach’s interference. In (a), (b) and (c), the ball remains alive to allow a fielder the opportunity to make a catch. Once the ball goes over the fence as in (b), the ball becomes dead immediately. In (c), the ball becomes dead at the end of playing action. In (a), the catch would be the third out and the ball is dead. In (b), R1’s out is the second out. Therefore, B3’s home run counts. Had there been two outs when B3 hit the ball, B3’s home run would not have counted, because R1’s out was the third out. In (c), anytime the ball is not caught in flight, the batter is awarded first base, unless he was put out.
Called out immediately to me means that you kill the play and it's not a delayed dead ball....I've only had this happen once and I made it a delayed dead ball.

-Josh
Reply With Quote