View Single Post
  #26 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 15, 2002, 08:43am
theboys theboys is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Woodstock, GA
Posts: 337
Talking

This is way too complicated for me. I think I'll just make sure my team gets out of the huddle in time!

I have a question, though.

A1 is supposed to shoot the FT. Team B has assumed their positions along the FT line. Team A is still huddling, so the official places the ball on the floor, at the disposal of the shooter. BUT, regardless of what team A does, they will still be whistled for a FT violation, right? Do you give them the 10 seconds because the rules call for it? Does it make any difference if its 1-1, versus a 2-shot foul?

The reason I ask: In a 1-1 situation, it would look strange to put the ball at the disposal of the shooter, just to whistle a violation when he runs in late to shoot the FT. Don't get me wrong - I don't necessarily disagree with the procedure. Its just another one of the situations where ignorant howler monkeys like me would probably do Cheetah-like back flips because we didn't understand what was going on. Well, not me, because I understand the rule.
__________________
If you can't be a good example, then you'll just have to be a horrible warning.

- Catherine Aird
Reply With Quote