
Mon May 04, 2009, 11:40am
|
Official Forum Member
|
|
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ref Ump Welsch
Since Steve has half the answer, I'll give out the full answer: We have 1 out on the batter-runner, R1 and R2 are safe. Rationale: No runner has to give up his base, even if he's forced to. Which brought another twist to the play, that if the throw hadn't beaten the batter-runner to 1B, the batter-runner is still out for arriving at a base occupied by a preceding runner. I swear that is what my UIC told me based upon his call to the national U-trip office.
|
Idiocy.
Keep in mind it was a slow-pitch game, not fast pitch, and the ruling is not a written interp.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
|