Joe, 4-11-3 is more of a clarification than a change. Notice in 4-11-1 it says (and always has, as far as I know) that continuous motion has no significance unless a foul is committed by the defense. The logical implication is that if a foul is committed by a teammate of the shooter, continuous motion would not apply and the ball would become dead immediately. Therefore, if the shot had not left the shooter's hand, no basket. There's been no change in the ruling, just a slight clarification.
Chuck
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
|