View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 01, 2009, 03:30pm
Tru_in_Blu Tru_in_Blu is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Fremont, NH
Posts: 1,382
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota View Post
What if the batter has run completely through the strike zone (so is no longer holding the bat in the zone)?

The batter is running forward... "pulled back..."?
Well, hopefully the batter hasn't run completely through the strike zone or she might be guilty of a different infraction.

Typically, drag bunters are in the LH batter's box and they may start from the back of the box and move up to the front/1B portion of the box. But I think the same application of the rule comes into play here - if the bat is being carried through the zone as the ball crosses the plate, it's a strike. If they don't want to offer at the pitch, the bat has to be withdrawn.

I think it's easier when you can see it. What some coaches may argue is that a drag bunt fouled off w/ 2 strikes was "really a slap". Your judgment.

Ted
Reply With Quote