Quote:
Originally posted by Schmidt MJ
Quote:
Originally posted by BigJoe
One thing to keep in mind, if A-1 fouls B-1 while A-2 is shooting, but hasn't released the shot, the basket doesn't count. This is according to NFHS rules.
"Keep 'em straight up!"
|
I agree with this 100%. At our rules meeting last night the state director was adamant that the shot does NOT count if the shooter had not released the ball before his teammate was fouled. Continuous motion does not apply unless the shooter is the player fouled.
|
MJ, you need to re-read BigJoe's post. He's talking about A2 fouling B1, not B1 fouling A2.
If A1 is in the act of shooting and B1 fouls A2, then the basket will most definitely count if it goes. If you're state interpreter told you something different, he is wrong.
6.7 SITUATION C:
Under what circumstances does the ball remain live when a foul occurs just prior to the ball being in flight during a try or tap?
Ruling: The ball would ordinarily become dead at once, but it remains live if the foul is by the defense, and this foul occurs after A1 has started the try or tap for goal and time does not expire before the ball is in flight. The foul by the defense may be either personal or technical and the exception to the rule applies to field goal tries and taps and free-throw tries. (4-11; 4-40-1)
BigJoe, this isn't a new rule. It's been in the books for years.