Thread: Is this a balk?
View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 28, 2009, 05:42pm
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,140
Is this a balk?

NFHS Rules please (but I would also like NCAA and MLB/OBR rulings too).

F1 is a left-handed pitcher. R1 on first. F1, pitching from the stretch, goes to the set position. F1 lifts his not pivot first and starts to move it toward home plate; the non-pivot foot moves about twleve (12) inches toward home plate and then F1, without stopping his motion, steps with his pivot foot toward first base and throws to first base; if one where to draw the proverbial imaginary 45 degree line from the pitcher's plate, F1's non-pivot foot definitely lands on the first base side of the 45 degree line.

This happened in a H.S. game that was televised in the Toledo area and a balk was called by both the PU and the BU. I believe the call was correct because he started toward the plate with his non-pivot foot, but MTD, Jr. (young ones, they think they know it all, ; that is why I make him work the plate all of the time we umpire together, afterall he is only 19) believes it was not a balk because the non-pivot foot landed on the first base side of the 45 degree line.

Is this a balk?

I will hang up now and listen to your answers off the air. Thank you and good night. Let the fun begin.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote