View Single Post
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 17, 2009, 12:24am
UMP25 UMP25 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 1,606
Quote:
Originally Posted by SanDiegoSteve View Post
What if Black asked for Time and was granted time prior to Castillo being announced? Would that be considered a trip during his at bat? If Black asked for time as the previous batter was dropping his bat to head to first, the next hitter had not yet been announced. His at bat doesn't start until he is announced. This is why managers wait until the next hitter is announced before changing pitchers, giving the last move to the offense and making them burn a player. I didn't see the game, so I'm just wondering if this may have been why the second conference was allowed by Darling.
For purposes of this rule, Castillo's at-bat began the instant Schneider's ended with the walk. Therefore, Black's second trip came during the same at-bat, which isn't permitted, of course.
Reply With Quote