View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 22, 2000, 12:48am
James Neil James Neil is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 465
Smile

thanks for the feed back Smoke, but you have it wrong also. I finaly got the rule that I was looking for. The rule is National Federation rule 6-3-1 It is a touchback when any free kick ( kickoff )or scrimmage kick ( punt )breaks the plane of R's ( the returning team ) goal line. the ball only has to break the plane, does not have to touch the ground or a player. I am correct, the ball cannot be batted out since it is already a touchback and the ball is dead. It's the same for collage with one small difference ,when a player bats the ball back it's not a foul but a violation and the other team can take the ball where it's spotted or take the touchback, witch they oviously do. Smoke , let me tell you ,so many people have the wrong idea on this I can't belive it . I think what people are seeing when they see a player atempt to bat the ball is they are trying to touch it befor it crosses the line .Because of the angle it looks like they or the ball are in the end zone. But for it to be downed it can't have crossed the plane of the goal. If you come across anything more on this I would love to hear what you have. thanks again Jimmy
Reply With Quote