View Single Post
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 13, 2009, 08:11am
Jim D. Jim D. is offline
Official Forum Member
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 118
Originally Posted by Robert Goodman View Post
What if he's wearing an eligible receiver number, waits until the next down (so he's not returning during the down), and returns
  1. before the ball is snapped, or
  2. after the ball is snapped,
and then runs downfield to catch a pass? Is either a case of simulated substitution, or is it not a feigned substitution procedure unless he was out of bounds close to his team's bench area?

Robert in the Bronx
Yes, then you're in the pretending substition rules. It is illegal on that basis.
Reply With Quote